1999 recipients


Steven Berkoff Writer and Actor
David Greig Playwright
Mats Ek Choreographer
Ivo van Hove Director


Catalyst Theatre The House of Pootsie Plunket
Ridiculusmus Yes Yes Yes
The Bush Theatre Howie the Rookie
Ross Noble Comedian
Misha Alperin, Huur Huun Tu, and Angleite Fly Fly My Sadness
Mighty Aphrodite West Side Story
Brunton Theatre A Madman Sings to the Moon
Paines Plough Riddance
Macnaughton’s Vale of Atholl Pipe Band
Boris Charmatz Dancer and choreographer
Lynne Ramsay Film director Ratcatcher
Osmo Vanska the BBC SSO Triduum
Ensemble Modern
Alize Zandwijk Director The Lower Depths
Enver Izmailov Eurasian guitarist
Faith Liddell Edinburgh International Book Festival 1999
Wee Stories Theatre Children for Labyrinth
Stary Theatre, Krakow Sleepwalkers
Andras Schiff Mozart 1784
Blues band Mystery Juice
Mary Shields Observer Assembly programme
Ben Tindall Architect The Hub
Scottish Opera Macbeth